Surface Warfare Magazine
Sharing stories and news from Sailors across the U.S. Navy’s Surface Forces
FMS - 7 Things Sailors Should Know
Formula Upgrade

This spring, based on Fleet feedback, Navy revised the Final Multiple Score (FMS), the weighted formula used to select Sailors for advancement.

The new formula rewards sustained superior performance and increases the role of the command triad in the advancement of Sailors, officials said, Sept. 25.

Changes to the formulation were made to achieve the right balance between technical skill proficiency, as measured by the test, and on the job performance as gauged by chain of command input through the evaluation process. It also places less emphasis on longevity-based elements.

This fall's petty officer advancement results will be the first use of the new formula.

Here are seven things Sailors should know about FMS:

1. FMS is a weight-based calculation used to rank Sailors eligible for advancement.

2. The advancement examination is the largest factor considered for advancement to E4 and E5, increasing in weight by eight percentage points, going from 37 percent to 45 percent.

3. For E6 and E7, Performance Mark Average (PMA) becomes the largest factor in determining Sailors' FMS. For advancement to E6, PMA increased three percentage points and now counts for 50 percent of the FMS calculation. For advancement to E7, PMA increased 10 percentage points to count for 60 percent of the total FMS.

4. Sailors who pass the advancement exam, but do not advance due to quota limitations, are eligible to receive Pass Not Advanced (PNA) points; however, the new policy limits PNA points to the top 25 percent of Sailors - 1.5 PNA points go to the top 25 percent of Sailors by test score, and 1.5 go to the top 25 percent by Performance Mark Average. However, for the next five test exams, those who have PNA points will have those points carried over.

5. Total PNA points in the FMS are determined from a Sailor's last five advancement cycles for a maximum of 15 possible points.

6. Service in Pay Grade has been reduced from seven percent to a weight of one percent of FMS for advancement to E4 through E6.

7. The Good Conduct Medal and the Reserve Meritorious Service Medal will no longer contribute award points in the FMS.

For more news from Chief of Naval Personnel, visit Surface Warfare Magazine


 Warships Ready for Combat


 Training Crews to Fight and Win


 Developing Our Sailors


 Awards and Recognition



US Navy Recruiting | US Navy | US Marine Corps | Navy Reserves | Individual Augmentee
No Fear Act | FOIA | | Veterans Crisis Line | Vote | DoD SafeHelpline
This is an official United States Navy Website. This US Government system is subject to monitoring. Please read our Privacy Policy and Section 508/Accessibility Statement.

The appearance of external hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the United States Department of Defense, or the United States Department of the Navy of the linked web sites, or the information, products or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Morale, Welfare and Recreation (MWR) sites, the United States Department of Defense, the Department of the Navy  does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.