Surface Navy Announces Winners of Shiphandling Competition
SAN DIEGO - Naval Surface Forces, U.S. Pacific Fleet and U.S. Atlantic Fleet announced the group and squadron winners for the 2010 Junior Officer Award for Excellence in Shiphandling in a message Jan. 27.

The winners were announced in a joint message from Vice Adm. D.C. Curtis, commander, Naval Surface Forces, U.S. Pacific Fleet, and Rear Adm. David Thomas Jr., commander, Naval Surface Forces, U.S. Atlantic Fleet.

Each year the surface Navy holds a competition for junior officers to determine the best ship driver in the entire surface force.

"Shiphandling proficiency is an essential and fundamental competency for surface warfare officers," said Curtis. "Reaching this point in the competition has distinguished these officers as the best of the best in the Navy."

Throughout 2010, squadron and group commanders held competitions to determine the best junior officer shiphandler from each of their ships. The finalists will now compete in run-off competitions at the navigation, seamanship and ship handling trainers within their respective fleet concentration areas, and will then move on to compete at the Surface Warfare Officer School in Newport, R.I., for the title of Surface Force Junior Officer Shiphandler of the Year.

The group and squadron winners of the 2010 Junior Officer Award for Excellence in Shiphandling are:

Lt. Nicholas Hamm, USS Normandy (CG 60)
Lt. Matt Klock, USS Truxtun (DDG 103)
Lt. j.g. Andrew Branham, USS Carney (DDG 64)
Lt. j.g. Katie Burkhart, USS Philippine Sea (CG 58)
Lt. j.g. Tebin Glebus, USS Mcfaul (DDG 74)
Lt. j.g. Nicole Lobecker, USS Port Royal (CG 53)
Lt. j.g. Michael Mullee, USS Halsey (DDG 97)
Lt. j.g. Jordan Reagan, USS Kauffman (FFG 59)
Lt. j.g. Carlos, Roe, USS Chancellorsville (CG 62)
Lt. j.g. Stephen Szalai, USS Tortuga (LSD 46)
Lt. j.g. Charles Todd, USS Hue City (CG 66)
Lt. j.g. Casey Travis, USS Mcclusky (FFG 41)
Lt. j.g. Rachel Walker, USS Shiloh (CG 67)
Lt. j.g. Thomas Wright, USS Germantown (LSD 42)
Ensign Bryce Brown, USS Leyte Gulf (CG 55)
Ensign Steven Corbein, MCM Crew Conflict
Ensign Michael Collett, USS Ashland (LSD 48)
Ensign David Dorfman, USS Howard (DDG 83)
Ensign Darrel Emrys, USS Peleliu (LHA 5)
Ensign Matt Keller, USS Vandergrift (FFG 48)
Ensign Michael Leggett, USS Taylor (FFG 50)
Ensign William Lichtsinn USS Boxer (LHD 4)
Ensign Brandon Naddell, USS Wayne E. Meyer (DDG 108)
Ensign Ann Patterson, USS Mason (DDG 87)
Ensign Ann Petraiuolo, USS Wasp (LHA 1)
Ensign Daniel Rocha, USS Guardian (MCM 5)
Ensign David Schultz, USS Mcccampbell (DDG 85)
Ensign Chris Wilkens, USS Reuben James (FFG 57)

For more news from Commander, Naval Surface Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet, visit or follow the surface force at>
US Navy Recruiting | US Navy | US Marine Corps | Navy Reserves | Individual Augmentee
No Fear Act | FOIA | | Veterans Crisis Line | Vote | DoD SafeHelpline
This is an official United States Navy Website. This US Government system is subject to monitoring. Please read our Privacy Policy and Section 508/Accessibility Statement.

The appearance of external hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the United States Department of Defense, or the United States Department of the Navy of the linked web sites, or the information, products or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Morale, Welfare and Recreation (MWR) sites, the United States Department of Defense, the Department of the Navy  does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.