Sailor of the Year 2013
Sailor of the Year 2013
The SURFPAC Sailor of the Year week is the culmination of a process of selecting the best of the best Petty Officer First Class Sailors.  First each ship, at the end of the year, selects a Sailor of the Year (SOY).  Then, in the early part of the following year, the top four SOYs from Ashore and Afloat commands are selected as finalists for the Top Sea and Shore Sailor of the Year award.  The finalists win the top SOY award and a pipeline to promotion to Navy Chief.  The competition is fierce and fun.

Blank Template
Finalists and their family members will take part in numerous events throughout the week.
  • Flag Officer Reception
  • San Diego Zoo Breakfast Celebration
  • Tour San Diego Zoo
  • Sea World Aquarium Dinner
  • Pearl Harbor Survivors Association Lunch
  • Temecula Wine Tour and Dinner
  • Temecula Wine Tour and Dinner
  • Guided Tour - USS Midway w/RADM Mac McLaughlin
  • Harbor House Luncheon
  • COMNAVSUBPAC Submarine Tour
  • Cabin Call and Photo Opportunity (SOY & Spouse) w/VADM Copeman
  • SOY Finalist Banquet at Admiral Kidd, Skyline

 Sailor of the Year Week Related News Articles

SURFPAC Sailors of the Year 2013
2013 Saillor of the Year Finalists

 Browse Events




 2013 Sailor Of The Year Photos

Flickr SlideShow

Waterfront Senior Sailors of the Year 2013
STG1(SW) Dusten N. Abell
USS Shoup (DDG 86)
FC1(SW) Caleb P. Griffin
USS Pinckney (DDG 91)
QM1(SW) Erkia A. Lira
Assault Craft Unit Five
HM1(FMF/SW) Andres B. Santamaria
USS Curtis Wilber (DDG 54)
EN1(SW) Kyle J. Barkley
USS Freedom (LCS 1) Blue
MA1(SW/EXW) Ruben P. Gutierrez
USS Gridley (DDG 101)
AS1(AW/SW) Jimmy Maninang
USS Peleliu (LHA 5)
PS1(SW) Juan A. SantanaGonzalez
USS Mustin (DDG 89)
HT1(SW) Donipaul H. Briscoe
Afloat Training Group Western Pacific
LS1(SW/AW) Loreatha R. Guzman
USS Preble (DDG 88)
LS1(SW/SCW/AW) Carlos Martinez
USS Gary (FFG 51)
CS1(SW) Kelly A. Sarrol
USS Spruance (DDG 111)
BM1(SW/AW) CD Brown
USS Comstock (LSD 45)
FC1(SW) Teddy R. Haghverdi
USS Antietam (CG 54)
STG1(SW/IUSS) Matthew J. Massetti
USS Chung-Hoon (DDG 93)
OS1(SW) Ryan C. Saylor
Pre-Commissioning Unit Coronado (LCS 4) Blue
CS1(SW) Isaac P. Caballero
USS Lassen (DDG 82)
CS1(SW) Sacha C. Hasbrouck
USS Russell (DDG 59)
EN1(SW) Christopher G. Mata
USS Pearl Harbor (LSD 52)
GSE1(SW) Matthew P. Sidor
Naval Surface Group, Middle Pacific
GSM1(SW) Ryan D. Cartwright
USS Port Royal (CG 73)
IT1(SW/IDW) Brooke D. Hejl
Pre-Commissioning Unit America (LHA 6)
HM1(FMF/EXW/PJ) Jeremiah D. McArthur
Littoral Combat Support Squadron One
QM1(SW) Mario Silva
USS Rushmore (LSD 47)
IT1(SW/EXW) Ryan Collins
USS Benfold (DDG 65)
FC1(SW) Ian Heller
USS Howard (DDG 83)
HM1(FMF/EXW/PJ) Jeremiah D. McArthur
Pre-Commissioning Unit Jackson (LCS 6)
SH1(SW) Tharon Smith
USS Germantown (LSD 42)
SH1(SW) Daniel J. Cournede
USS Rodney M Davis (FFG 60)
MN1(SW) Chad A. Hidalgo
Mine Countermeasures Squadron Three
ET1(SW) David Mcinnis
USS Chafee (DDG 90)
FC1(SW) Allen G. Swanson
USS Princeton (CG 59)
MA1(SW) Raymond A. Cuevas
USS Paul Hamilton (DDG 60)
PS1(SW/AW/NAC) Dawn M. Hill
Carrier Strike Group Three
STG1(SW) Kevin E. Murphy
USS William P Lawrence (DDG 110)
LN1(SW/AW) Raysa A. Turner
USS Essex (LHD 2)
IT1(SW) Shavon J. Cummings
USS Fitzgerald (DDG 62)
MR1(SW) Robert Hutchinson
USS Chosin (CG 65)
BM1(SW/AW) Brian Q. Myers
Beach Master Unit One
LS1(SW/AW) Pamela A. Velez
USS Momsen (DDG 92)
NC1(SW/AW) John Louis Davis
USS Rentz (FFG 46)
NC1(SW) Cyrus Irani
USS Lake Erie (CG 70)
HM1(FMF) Andres Naranjo
Pre-Commissioning Unit Coronado (LCS 4) Gold
FC1(SW) Israel R. Villa
USS Stockdale (DDG 106)
EM1(SW) Christopher Dobbins
USS Chancellorsville (CG 62)
PS1(SW/AW) Limalia JeanJacques
USS Makin Island (LHD 8)
BM1(SW) Gregory L. Nelson
USS Shiloh (CG 67)
MA1(SW) Patrick K. Walsh
Afloat Training Group Pacific Northwest
OS1(SW) John C. Dubose III
USS Fort Worth (LCS 3) Blue
LS1(SW/IDW) Justin A. Jenkins
Mine Countermeasures Squadron Five
IT1(SW/IDW) Philip L. Nones
USS Mobile Bay (CG 53)
LS1(SW/AW) Nicholas Warren
USS Hopper (DDG 70)
IC1(SW) Michael W. Edwards
USS McClusky (FFG 41)
FC1(SW) Thomas P. Jocelyn
USS John Paul Jones (DDG 53)
HM1(SW) Peejay R. Panganiban
USS Green Bay (LPD 20)
FC1(SW) Jason R. Wheat
USS San Diego (LPD 22)
MA1(SW/AW/EXW) Nicholas S. Fessler
USS Bonhomme Richard (LHD 6)
LS1(SW/AW) Bruce L. Johnson
USS Denver (LPD 9)
FC1(SW) Oscar M. Pena
USS Sampson ( DDG 102)
NC1(SW/AW) Cheryl D. Wilker
Naval Surface Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet
FC1(SW) Dwayne Foster
USS Stethem (DDG 63)
EM1(SW) Desmond C. Johnson
USS Dewey (DDG 105)
OS1(SW) Jeremy J. Peterson
Mine Countermeasures Division Three One
IT1(SW/IDW) Tamika J. Williams
USS Harpers Ferry (LSD 49)
OS1(SW) Justin P. Frederick
USS Fort Worth (LCS 3) Gold
IS1(SW/IDW) Rusiane L. Jones
USS Michael Murphy (DDG 112)
MA1(SW/AW) Christopher A. Rainey
USS O’Kane (DDG 77)
IC1(SW/AW) James L. Wolfe
Carrier Strike Group One
EM1(SW/AW) Roderick R. Funiestas
USS New Orleans (LPD 18)
BM1(SW) TJ S. Kendall
USS Sterett (DDG 104)
BM1(SW/AW) Estrella E. Rains
Afloat Training Group San Diego
IC1(SW) John Zion
USS Decatur (DDG 73)
LN1(SW/AW) Zandee L. Galang
USS Blue Ridge (LCC 19)
EN1(SW) Gary G. Kluemper
USS Independence (LCS 2) Blue
NC1(SW/AW) Miguel A. Rendon
USS Halsey (DDG 97)
NC1(SW) Jeremy D. Garner
USS Cowpens (CG 63)
OS1(SW) Jarrod A. Knight
USS Freedom (LCS 1) Gold
BM1(SW) Jairon Rivera
USS Wayne E Meyer (DDG 108)
IT1(IDW/SW/AW) Constance A. Gilbert
Tactical Air Control Squadron Twelve
QM1(SW) Joshua A. Koenig
USS Cape St George (CG 71)
NC1(SW/AW) Jaime A. Romero
USS McCampbell (DDG 85)
EM1(SW) Patrick A. Gillespy
USS Ingraham (FFG 61)
FC1(SW) Jason S. Larim
USS Higgins (DDG 76)
FC1(SW) Ronald L. Roper
USS Bunker Hill (CG 52)
US Navy Recruiting | US Navy | US Marine Corps | Navy Reserves | Individual Augmentee
No Fear Act | FOIA | | Veterans Crisis Line | Vote | DoD SafeHelpline
This is an official United States Navy Website. This US Government system is subject to monitoring. Please read our Privacy Policy and Section 508/Accessibility Statement.

The appearance of external hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the United States Department of Defense, or the United States Department of the Navy of the linked web sites, or the information, products or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Morale, Welfare and Recreation (MWR) sites, the United States Department of Defense, the Department of the Navy  does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.