SECNAV Announces His Safety Excellence Recipients for 2013
From Secretary of the Navy Public Affairs
WASHINGTON - Secretary of the Navy (SECNAV) Ray Mabus has announced his Safety Excellence Awards Recipients for 2013.

The winners are:
- Ashore, Industrial, Category A: Marine Corps Support Facility Blount Island
- Ashore, Industrial, Category B: Naval Facilities Engineering Command Far East
- Ashore, Industrial, Category C: Marine Corps Logistics Base Barstow
- Ashore, Non-Industrial, Category A: Marine Corps Detacment, Fort Leonard Wood
- Ashore, Non-Industrial, Category B: Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek-Fort Story
- Ashore, Non-Industrial, Category C: Naval Station Rota Spain
- Fleet Operational/Fleet Support: Assault Craft Unit Five
- Afloat, Large Deck Combatant: USS Enterprise (Cvn 65)
- Afloat, Surface Combatant: USS Cape St George (Cg 71)
- Afloat, Amphibious: USS Kearsarge (Lhd 3)
- Afloat, Submarine: USS Connecticut (Ssn 22)
- Afloat, Auxiliary: USS Emory S Land (As 39)
- Aviation, Navy Active Duty: Helicopter Maritime Strike Squadron Seven-Two (Hsm-72, Formerly Hsl-42)
- Aviation, Marine Corps Active Duty: Marine Fighter Attack Squadron One Two Two (Vmfa-122)
- Aviation, Navy Reserve: Fighter Squadron Composite Twelve (Vfc-12)
- Aviation, Marine Corps Reserve: Marine Aerial Refueler Transport Squadron Two Three Four (Vmgr-234)
- Aviation, Training: Training Squadron Ten (Vt-10)
- Safety Integration In Acquisition: Naval Sea Systems Command - Mobile Landing Platform Team
- Emerging Center Of Excellence: Submarine Safety (Subsafe) Program

Mabus congratulated the recipients in his ALNAV released July 2.

Ray Mabus stated, "Safety and Risk Management are indispensable to effectively prepare for and complete our mission, whether at home or deployed in harm's way. Your safety accomplishments are proof positive of your mission safety command culture and your commitment to each other, to safety excellence, to the Nation, and to the Department of the Navy as a world class safety organization. You have justly earned the right to fly my SECNAV Safety Flag for the next year. My personal congratulations to all SECNAV Safety Excellence Award recipients."

The recipients will receive a plaque, citation and the SECNAV's Safety Excellence flag at a presentation taking place at the Command level. Recipients have the right to fly the SECNAV Safety Excellence flag for one year.

The Safety Excellence Awards were established in 2002 by Gordon R. England, who twice served as SECNAV. It is the Department of the Navy's premier tribute to commands and programs that promote the safety of our Sailors, Marines and civilians, and protect our aircraft, ships and facilities from mishap.
US Navy Recruiting | US Navy | US Marine Corps | Navy Reserves | Individual Augmentee
No Fear Act | FOIA | | Veterans Crisis Line | Vote | DoD SafeHelpline
This is an official United States Navy Website. This US Government system is subject to monitoring. Please read our Privacy Policy and Section 508/Accessibility Statement.

The appearance of external hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the United States Department of Defense, or the United States Department of the Navy of the linked web sites, or the information, products or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Morale, Welfare and Recreation (MWR) sites, the United States Department of Defense, the Department of the Navy  does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.