Battle E - 4th award
Certified “E”ffective
Naval Surface Force Announces 2014 Battle “E” Award Winners

Commander, Naval Surface Forces (SURFOR) announced the 2014 Battle Effectiveness (Battle “E”) winners March 17.

The Battle “E” is awarded annually to ships and crews that present the maximum condition of readiness in their group, and their capability to perform assigned wartime tasks.

Vice Adm. Tom Rowden, U.S. Pacific Fleet and Rear Adm. Pete Gumataotao, commander, Naval Surface Force, U.S. Atlantic Fleet congratulated all the winners in the official message message.

“Your success in meeting mission area excellence standards is noted with pleasure,” they said.

US Navy PhotoBattle “E” awardees sustained superior performance in the following six excellence categories: Maritime warfare; engineering and survivability; command, control, communications, and information warfare; logistics management; Commander Naval Surface Force Safety Award and the Efficiency Excellence Award.

Forward Deployed Naval Forces, Japan announced the following winners: USS Antietam (CG 54), USS Mustin (DDG 89) and USS Blue Ridge (LCC 19).

Pearl Harbor, Hawaii award winners included: USS Hopper (DDG 70) and USS Chafee (DDG 90).

San Diego winners included: USS Lake Champlain (CG 57), USS Mobile Bay (CG 53), USS Sterett (DDG 104), USS Wayne E. Meyer (DDG 108), USS Kidd (DDG 100), USS Arleigh Burke (DDG 51), USS Spruance (DDG 111), USS Howard (DDG 83), USS Donald Cook (DDG 75), USS Boxer (LHD 4), USS Peleliu (LHA 5), USS Anchorage (LPD 23) and USS San Diego (LPD 22).

Mayport, Florida winners included: USS Philippine Sea (CG 58), USS Gettysburg (CG 64), USS Carney (DDG 64) and USS Farragut (DDG 99).

Norfolk included the following winners: USS Winston S. Churchill (DDG 81), USS Nitze (DDG 94), USS Gonzalez (DDG 66), USS Elrod (FFG 55) and USS Bataan (LHD 5).

The littoral combat ship crew winners were LCS Crew 101 and LCS Crew 202.

The mine countermeasure ships were USS Avenger (MCM 1) and USS Devastator (MCM 6).

Mine countermeasure crews was Crew Devastator

The patrol coastal ship winners were USS Sirocco (PC 6), USS Typhoon (PC 5) and USS Shamal (PC 13). Surface Warfare Magazine


 Combat Readiness


 Personal Readiness


 Material Readiness


 Awards and Recognition



US Navy Recruiting | US Navy | US Marine Corps | Navy Reserves | Individual Augmentee
No Fear Act | FOIA | | Veterans Crisis Line | Vote | DoD SafeHelpline
This is an official United States Navy Website. This US Government system is subject to monitoring. Please read our Privacy Policy and Section 508/Accessibility Statement.

The appearance of external hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the United States Department of Defense, or the United States Department of the Navy of the linked web sites, or the information, products or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Morale, Welfare and Recreation (MWR) sites, the United States Department of Defense, the Department of the Navy  does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.