Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Commanding Officer

CDR Albert Matt 


CDR Matt graduated from the University of Southwestern Louisiana with a Bachelor of Science degree in Industrial Technology in 1985. He joined the Army National Guard in 1983 and received his commission through Officer Candidate School, Fort Benning, Ga in 1986 after serving as a reconnaissance cavalry scout sergeant. He later served as a scout platoon leader, detachment commander, and intelligence officer before designation as an aviator in 1988. He served in utility, attack and medical service corps evacuation helicopter leadership positions. He was twice selected and served over three years as company commander and later volunteered as a Chief Warrant Officer. While aboard Ft Bragg in 2003, he was selected as aide to the National Guard Bureau’s Medical Service Corp Flag Officer ad hoc site visit program.

CDR Matt reported to VR 54 in March 2004 after completing a mobilization aboard Fort Bragg, NC. In 2005, he mobilized and attended the Aviation Officer Safety course while serving as squadron Safety Officer. Follow on assignments with 54 were administration officer and operations officer. He is slated to assume VR 54 executive officer duties in September 2012.

CDR Matt has accumulated more than 7000 hours of military and civilian flying. His personal awards include the Navy and Marine Corps Commendation and Achievement medals and the Army Commendation and Achievement medals. He received the Gen. George S. Patton Outstanding Trooper award, Order of Cincinnati medal, numerous military and civic leadership citations, is an infantry officer school honor leadership graduate, and holds a masters degree in National Security Studies from the Naval War College Fleet Seminar Program (2010) with a counter insurgency concentration focused on Southeast Asia. He attended the Army Infantry Officer Basic Course, Army Aviation Officer Advanced Course, and Army Combined Arms and Services Staff School.

CDR Albert Matt assumed command 14 December 2013.