Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
CAPT John E. Perrone
Captain John E. Perrone
United States Navy
Commander, Carrier Air Wing ONE
          Captain John Perrone was commissioned in 1993 after receiving his degree in Systems Engineering from the Naval Academy. Designated a Naval Aviator in 1996, he reported to VFA-125. Upon completion of the FA-18C FRS, he reported to VFA-115 onboard USS ABRAHAM LINCOLN (CVN-72) and completed a deployment in support of Operation SOUTHERN WATCH.
          His next assignment was with the 94th Fighter Squadron, flying F-15Cs with the Air Force. He completed two deployments to Saudi Arabia and Turkey flying combat missions over Iraq. From 2003 to 2004, he served on CVW-14 Staff as Strike Operations Officer onboard USS JOHN C STENNIS (CVN-74), flying the FA-18C and E on another WestPac. Captain Perrone reported to the Stingers of VFA-113 for his Department Head tour in 2004, holding the jobs of Admin, Maintenance, and Operations Officer. The squadron completed two WestPac deployments in support of Operation IRAQI FREEDOM and was honored with the 2005 Battle “E”. Detaching in 2007, Captain Perrone received orders to serve as Air Wing Training Officer at the prestigious Naval Strike and Air Warfare Center in Fallon, Nevada flying both the F-16A and FA-18C.
          In 2009, he reported to the Sidewinders of VFA-86 as XO and assumed command in May 2011. The squadron completed a deployment in support of Operation ENDURING FREEDOM, relocated to NAS Lemoore, and transitioned to FA-18E Super Hornets. From 2012 to 2015, he served as Chief of Current Ops at Special Operations Command, Central headquarters on MacDill AFB, Tampa. He reported to Carrier Air Wing ONE as Deputy Commander in April 2015.  To date, he has accumulated 3500 flight hours in the FA-18A-F, F-15A-D, and F-16A/B aircraft. His personal decorations include the Defense MSM, MSM (three awards), Strike/Flight Air Medal (five awards), Navy Commendation Medal (two awards), Navy Achievement Medal (five awards) and numerous other campaign and service awards.