The 2013 U.S. Fleet Forces Sea & Shore Sailors of the Year


HM1(SW/EXW) Mahtob M. Johnson CTR1(IDW/SW) Patricia H. Madigan
USS ARLEIGH BURKE (DDG 51) Navy Information Operation Command (NIOC) Hawaii

NORFOLK, Va. – Commander, U.S. Fleet Forces (USFF) announced the 2013 U.S. Fleet Forces Command (USFF) Sea and Shore Fleet Sailors of the Year during a ceremony Thursday, March 27, at the Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center in Norfolk.

The U.S. Fleet Forces Command Sailor of the Year program exists to recognize the best and brightest Sailors throughout USFF. A total of 13 candidates are competing for the two honors. The week-long Sailor of the Year activities included competition as well as social functions that honor the nominees’ service.

Following the announcement from Adm. Bill Gortney, the Fleet Sea Sailor of the Year will travel to Washington, D.C. in May and be meritoriously promoted to chief petty officer by the Chief of Naval Operations, while the Fleet Shore Sailor of the Year will move forward in one more round of competition for the Chief of Naval Operations Shore Sailor of the Year.