USFF logo

Press Release

Public Affairs Office
Commander, U.S. Fleet Forces Command
1562 Mitscher Avenue, Suite 250
Norfolk, Va. 23551-2487

OFFICE: (757) 836-3630
AFTER HOURS: (757) 416-2056
FAX: (757) 836-3601


Press Release 16-14
March 27, 2014

USFF Announces 2013 Fleet Sea, Shore Sailors of Year

By Mass Communication Specialist 1st Class (SW/AW) Phil Beaufort, U.S. Fleet Forces Public Affairs

NORFOLK, Va. – The commander of U.S. Fleet Forces (USFF) announced the 2013 USFF Fleet Sea and Shore Sailors of the Year (SOY) during a ceremony hosted by the Hampton Roads Navy League at the Half Moon Cruise and Celebration Center downtown Norfolk, Va., March 27.

Adm. Bill Gortney announced Hospital Corpsman 1st Class (SW/EXW) Mahtob M. Johnson, USS Arleigh Burke (DDG-51) as the 2013 Sea Sailor of the Year and Cryptologic Technician (Collections) 1st Class (IDW/SW) Patricia H. Madigan, Navy Information Operations Command, Hawaii as the Shore Sailor of the Year.

Force Master Chief Chuck(SW/AW/IDW) Clark said he was thrilled with this year’s candidates.

“Any one of them could have been the selection. It was extremely hard selecting both the Sea and Shore Sailors of the Year this year, because there was a razor thin difference between the selects and the non-selects,” said Clarke. “I go back to work with a renewed sense of faith in that the Navy is in good hands because of the caliber of Sailors that we have.

Madigan thanked Gortney and expressed her surprise on her selection.

“These shipmates standing behind me are an amazing group of people and I am so blessed to meet them,” said Madigan. “Thank you Adm. Gortney for everything you’ve done for us this week, it’s truly remarkable. I think this will be a life changing event.”

“I am so honored and humbled and obviously taken aback by this,” said Johnson, a native of Washington D.C. “I’m only here because of my family, my husband, my daughter and all the Sailors I so proudly serve with. I would not be here if it were not for each and every one of them.”

The USFF SOY program recognizes the best and brightest Sailors throughout USFF.

Johnson will be meritoriously promoted to the rank of chief petty officer by the chief of naval operations this May. Madigan will go on to the next round of competition at the Chief of Naval Operations Shore SOY competition this May in Washington, D.C.

Finalists for Fleet Sea Sailor of the Year:
Cryptologic Technician (Technical) 1st Class (DW/SS) Nickolas A. Pazar
CYBERFOR, Navy Information Operations Command, Whidbey Island

Navy Diver 1st Class (DSW/EXW/SW) Christopher L. Lansford
NECC, Explosive Ordnance Disposal Expeditionary Support Unit 2

Electronics Technician 1st Class (SW/AW) Christopher K. Lindvold

Hospital Corpsman 1st Class (FMF) Rosalinda Finnerty
USFF, Fleet Marine Force

Electrician’s Mate 1st Class (SS) James R. Gagnon

Naval Air Crewman (Operator) 1st Class (NAC/AW/IUSS) Raul Gomez
AIRLANT, Patrol and Reconnaissance Wing ELEVEN

Finalists for Fleet Shore Sailor of the Year:
Equipment Operator 1st Class (SCW/EXW) Paul C. Trotman IV
NECC, Underwater Construction Team ONE

Aerographer’s Mate 1st Class (IDW/ AW) Stella G. Swartz
USFF, Fleet Weather Center, San Diego

Machinist’s Mate 1st Class (SS) Joseph Stockton
SUBLANT, Trident Refit Facility, Kings Bay

Aviation Electrician’s Mate 1st Class (AW) Richard K. Fenters
AIRLANT, Air Test and Evaluation Squadron ONE

Personnel Specialist 1st Class (SW/AW) Chukwulozia P. Okobi
SURFLANT, Naval Surface Force Atlantic