Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


Captain David K. Guluzian
Commanding Officer

Click for high resolutionCaptain Dave Guluzian is from San Marino, California. After high school, he attended the New Mexico Military Institute in Roswell, New Mexico prior to entering the United States Naval Academy.

He graduated from USNA with a bachelor’s degree in Physics in 1991.

Captain Guluzian’s division officer tours were aboard USS Princeton (CG 59) as ordnance officer and aboard USS Dwight D. Eisenhower (CVN 69) as reactor mechanical division officer. His department head tours were as combat systems officer aboard USS Oldendorf (DD 972) and as main propulsion assistant aboard USS Nimitz (CVN 68). He served as executive officer aboard USS Pearl Harbor (LSD 52) and operations officer aboard USS Bonhomme Richard (LHD 6).

Ashore, he served as a tactical warfare instructor at Fleet Combat Training Center, Pacific, as executive officer of the Nuclear Propulsion Mobile Training Team (Pacific) and deputy force nuclear propulsion officer (Code: N9) on staff at Commander, Naval Air Forces Pacific, and as deputy commander of the Littoral Combat Ship (LCS) Squadron. He earned a master’s degree in Business Administration at the University of San Diego.

Captain Guluzian commanded USS Pearl Harbor (LSD 52) from August 2008 to August 2010, leading the ship through two Western Pacific deployments and a visit by the Board of Inspection and Survey. He later served as battalion officer at the Naval Academy and as Branch Head, Surface Nuclear Officer Programs (PERS-424/41N) at Navy Personnel Command. In November 2015, he served as USS Kearsarge’s (LHD 3) Executive Officer, and June 2017 he assumed the role of Commanding Officer in USS Kearsarge.

Capt. Guluzian’s awards include the Meritorious Service Medal (3), Navy Commendation Medal (8), and Navy Achievement Medal (3).