Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Command Master Chief

MCPO(SW/AW/IDW) Sarah B. Gomez
Command Master Chief

Click for high resolution

Master Chief Sarah Gomez joined the Navy in June 1995. After completing recruit training in Great Lakes, Illinois, she attended Data Processing “A” School in San Diego, Ca. Upon completion she was transferred to US Atlantic Command, Norfolk, Virginia, where she advanced to Data Processing Third and then Radioman Second Class Petty Officer.

In December 1998, she transferred to USS COLE (DDG 67), where she served as a Watch Supervisor, Chief Watch Officer and earned the Enlisted Surface Warfare Specialist qualification. Upon her transfer to NCTAMSLANT, Norfolk, Virginia in June 2002, she was advanced to Petty Officer First Class.

Master Chief Gomez reported to CMS Det San Antonio in May 2003, where she served as an Account Registration Authority, Short Title Manager, and Account Manager for all service branches. She was advanced to Chief Petty Officer during this tour. In August 2007, she transferred to USS FORREST SHERMAN (DDG 98), Norfolk, Virginia served as the Combat Communications Leading Chief Petty Officer and was advanced to Senior Chief Petty Officer.

Master Chief Gomez’s next assignment was to Center for Information Dominance Learning Site Norfolk, Dam Neck, Virginia. She arrived in August 2010 and served as the Information Systems Departmental LCPO and as the unit’s Senior Enlisted Leader. She attained both the Information Dominance Warfare Specialist and Master Training Specialist qualifications and was advanced to Master Chief Petty Officer. In October 2013, she reported to USS WASP (LHD 1), Norfolk, Virginia, served as the Combat System’s Department Leading Chief Petty Officer and Training Departmental Leading Chief Petty Officer where she earned her Enlisted Aviation Warfare specialist device and was selected into the Command Master Chief (CMC) Program.

Master Chief Gomez is a graduate of the U.S. Navy Senior Enlisted Academy (Class 168, Blue), and the Command Master Chief Course Class 146. Her awards and decorations include Joint Service Commendation Medal, Navy Commendation Medal, Air Force Commendation Medal, Joint Service Achievement Medal, seven Navy Marine Corps Achievement Medals and various campaign, service and unit awards.