Commander, Submarine Group Two

  SUBLANT Announces Battle “E” Winners

NORFOLK, Va.   Vice Adm. Michael J. Connor, Commander, Submarine Force Atlantic (COMSUBLANT), has announced the winners of the 2012 Battle Efficiency (Battle “E”) competition.

“The Battle E competition is conducted to strengthen individual command performance, improve overall force readiness, and to recognize outstanding performance,” said Connor.  “The award symbolizes the overall readiness of the command to carry out its assigned wartime tasks as a unit of the Atlantic Submarine Force.  The competition for these honors, as always, is extremely keen.  They should be a source of great pride to each and every crewmember.”

Based on a year-long competition, one submarine from each submarine squadron in the Atlantic Fleet is recognized.  The awards are presented by the commodore of each squadron to the submarine under their command which has demonstrated the highest level of battle readiness during the evaluation year.

The 2012 COMSUBLANT Battle “E” winners, their homeports, and commanding officers are:

Commander, Submarine Squadron (SUBRON) FOUR (Groton, Conn.) – USS New Hampshire (SSN 778), commanded during the competition by Cmdr. John McGunnigle.

SUBRON SIX (Norfolk, Va.) – USS Boise (SSN 764), commanded by Cmdr. Brian Sittlow

Commander, Submarine Development Squadron TWELVE (Groton, Conn.) – USS Toledo (SSN 769), commanded by Cmdr. Sam Geiger. 

SUBRON SIXTEEN (Kings Bay, Ga.) – USS Georgia (SSGN 729) (Blue) commanded during the competition by Capt. Kelly McDowell and Capt. Daniel Christofferson, and USS Georgia (SSGN 729) (Gold), commanded during the competition by Capt. Michael Cockey and Capt. Rhett Jaehn.

SUBRON TWENTY (Kings Bay, Ga.) – USS Alaska (SSBN 732) (Blue), commanded during the competition by Cmdr. Kevin Byrne and Cmdr. Todd Figanbaum, and USS Alaska (SSBN 732) (Gold) commanded by Cmdr. Robert Wirth.