Naval Oceanography


 Captain William H. Nisley II 


 Captain William H. Nisley II, USN

Chief of Staff

Naval Meteorology and Oceanography Command 


Captain Nisley is a native of Chicago, Illinois and he enlisted in the Navy in June 1976.  Following Recruit Training at Great Lakes, Illinois, he completed assignments as an Aerographer's Mate aboard USS Blue Ridge (LCC-19), USS Belleau Wood (LHA-3), Mobile Environmental Team Norfolk, and instructor duty at AG-A and AG-C Schools.  He is an honor graduate of the Joint Navy/Air Force Meteorology and Oceanography Analyst/Forecaster Course and advanced to Chief Petty Officer in 1985.  He commissioned as a Limited Duty Officer in October 1987 and selected for designation as an 1800 / Oceanographer in 1998.  Captain Nisley’s duty assignments include the following:

1987 – 1989 Fleet Forecaster and Watch Officer

                    Naval Oceanography Command Center/Joint Typhoon Warning Center, Guam


1989 – 1993 Operations and Executive Officer

                    Naval Oceanography Command Facility, Brunswick, Maine


1993 – 1994 Central Michigan University, Mt. Pleasant, Michigan, Bachelor of Science degree in Earth Sciences


1995 – 1998 Officer in Charge, Naval Atlantic METOC Detachment, Patuxent River, Maryland

                    ADDU – Naval Air Warfare Center – Aircraft Division, Air Test and Evaluation Squadron ONE. 


1998 – 2000 Naval Post Graduate School, Monterey, CA,

                    Master of Science degrees in Meteorology and Physical Oceanography


2000 – 2003 USS George Washington (CVN 73)

                    Operations Noble Eagle, Enduring Freedom, Southern Watch


2003 – 2005 OPNAV Staff, Meteorology and Oceanography and ISR Programs (N096, N61/N84)

                    Executive Assistant to the Director, FORCEnet and Oceanographer/Navigator of the Navy. 


2005 – 2006 Fleet Oceanographer, Future Operations, Deputy Assistant Chief of Staff for Operations

                    U.S. Naval Forces Central Command/U.S. Fifth Fleet/Coalition Forces Maritime

                    Component Commander


2006 – 2008 Commanding Officer, Strike Group Oceanography Team Norfolk, Va.


2008 – 2010 Executive Officer and Commanding Officer

                    Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center Monterey, Calif.


2010 – Fleet Oceanographer and Navigator, Commander, U. S. Fleet Forces Command


2010 – 2013 Commissioning Commanding Officer, Fleet Weather Center Norfolk


2013 – Fleet Oceanographer and Navigator, Commander, U. S. Fleet Forces Command


2013 – 2014 Assistant Chief of Staff, Operations (N3), Naval Meteorology and Oceanography Command


Captain Nisley assumed his present duties on 29 May 2014


His personal awards include the Legion of Merit, Meritorious Service Medal with four gold stars, Navy Commendation Medal with three gold stars, the Navy Achievement Medal with three gold stars, and numerous unit and service awards.