Commander, United States Naval Forces Southern Command:


Commander, United States Naval Forces Southern Command (COMUSNAVSO) was established in February 2000, with headquarters at Naval Station Roosevelt Roads, Puerto Rico which in early 2004 relocated to Naval Station Mayport, Florida. COMUSNAVSO serves as a main link between the U.S. Navy and the navies of South America, Central America, and the Caribbean, and is at the forefront of U.S. engagement in the Western Hemisphere. The command consolidates functions previously conducted by the Commander, Western Hemisphere Group, formerly in Mayport, Florida and the Commander, South Atlantic Force, U.S. Atlantic Fleet (COMSOLANT), formerly located at Naval Station Roosevelt Roads, Puerto Rico. COMUSNAVSO was built around the core of COMSOLANT, that was established in June of 1958 with headquarters in Trinidad and Tobago and was moved to Roosevelt Roads, Puerto Rico in 1973. COMSOLANT had participated in annual "UNITAS" deployments around South America since 1960, and routinely deployed to Africa for the West African Training Cruise since 1980.


In addition to UNITAS, COMUSNAVSO participates in navy-to-navy exercises, counter drug operations, port visits, humanitarian missions, disaster relief and protocol events. COMUSNAVSO exercises military command and control of all assigned ships and units, and represents the U.S. Southern Command with respect to naval matters in the region.



U.S. Fourth  Fleet:

Chief of Naval Operations (CNO) Adm. Gary Roughead announced reestablishment of U.S. Fourth Fleet April 24, 2008. He reestablished U.S. Fourth Fleet July 12, 2008 during a ceremony at Naval Station Mayport.  U.S. Fourth Fleet was a major U.S. Navy command in the South Atlantic Ocean during World War II. Established in 1943 to protect the U.S. against raiders, blockade runners and enemy submarines, it was disestablished in 1950 when responsibilities were taken over by U.S. Second Fleet.

U.S. Fourth Fleet headquarters, is co-located with U.S. Naval Forces Southern Command (USNAVSO) headquarters in Mayport , Fla. U.S. Fourth Fleet Commander is also Commander, U.S. Naval Forces Southern Command (COMUSNAVSO). COMUSNAVSO will retain mission as the Navy component commander for U.S. Southern Command (SOUTHCOM).  U.S. Fourth Fleet is responsible for U.S. Navy ships, aircraft and submarines operating in the SOUTHCOM area of operations, which encompasses the Caribbean, and Central and South America and surrounding waters.

No vessels or aircrafts will be permanently assigned to U.S. Fourth Fleet as part of the re-establishment. U.S. Fourth Fleet is an organizational fleet staffed to fulfill a planning and coordination mission. U.S. Fourth Fleet is focused on strengthening friendships and partnerships and will have five missions: support for peacekeeping, Humanitarian Assistance, Disaster Relief, traditional maritime exercises, and counterdrug support operations.